If you would like to delete your Tidio account (project) or pause it temporarily to come back at a more suitable time, we'll explain how to do that step-by-step in this article. 

 

In this article, you'll learn: 

 

 

Pause paid subscription

 

To pause your Tidio account in general, we advise you to check your subscription status and cancel it before you hide the chat widget on your website. With this approach, you will be able to come back to Tidio at a more suitable time. 

 

To cancel your paid subscription, head over to Settings > Billing:

 

The Settings sidebar has "Billing" selected under "PROJECT".

 

 

In the Subscription tab, click the Cancel subscription button to stop further billing and downgrade your subscription to the free version:

 

The Subscription tab has an arrow pointing to "Cancel subscription" beneath the package usage cards.

In the Downgrade to Free? window, click on Continue to cancel, tell us why you're leaving, and click on Continue to cancel once more. You keep your paid features until the end of your current billing period - and until then, you can still change your mind with the Resume subscription button. For all the details, please see Manage your subscription.

 

 

Hide the widget

 

When the subscription is canceled, you can hide the chat widget on your website by heading over to  Settings > Live Chat > Appearance, and accessing the Visibility and position section:

 

The Appearance settings have an arrow pointing to the "Visibility and position" section.

 

 

If you wish to completely disable the chat widget on your website (without uninstalling it), disable the Display toggle. Make sure to do this for both the desktop and mobile version of your widget; this will hide the widget entirely on your website.

 

The expanded "Visibility and position" section shows Desktop selected, a Mobile tab, and the Display switch turned off.

💡

Please note: the Display switch depends on your plan. If it's grayed out and you see Available only in PRO plan when you hover over it, you can't change it on your current plan - in that case, hide the widget before your paid features end, or uninstall Tidio from your website instead.

 

 

Make sure to hit the Save button in the bottom-left of the Appearance section to save your changes. Your visitors will no longer see the Tidio chat widget displayed on your website. 

 

To start showing Tidio on your website again, enable the Display toggle back again (and make sure you enable it for the devices you need).

 

 

Deleting your Tidio account (project)

Silent walkthrough. Find the Delete project button in Settings > Preferences and see the confirmation window.

 

Before you delete your Tidio project, you'll need to make sure that:

  

To entirely delete your Tidio project, you'll need to be the Project Owner. To continue with the deletion procedure, head over to the Settings > Preferences section, where you'll see a red Delete project button at the bottom. 

If you're on the Plus or Premium plan (or another custom plan), you won't see the Delete project section - please reach out to your Customer Success Manager or our support team, and we'll help you delete the project.

 

💡
If you are not the project owner, kindly request the login details from the project owner or contact our support team for further assistance. Please note that this step may involve a verification process.

 

 

The Settings sidebar has "Preferences" selected under "PROJECT".

 

 

By clicking on the Delete project button, you'll delete the whole project from our database, together with the agents and any data collected inside the project.

 

The "Delete project" section contains a red "Delete project" button.

You'll be asked to confirm in the Delete project window: The project will be permanently deleted. This action cannot be undone. Click on Delete to go ahead, or Cancel to keep your project:

The "Delete project" confirmation window with the text "The project will be permanently deleted. This action cannot be undone." and the Cancel and red Delete buttons

💡

Please note: if your project still has an active subscription, you'll see Sorry, you can't remove a chat project with an active subscription. Cancel your subscription first, and try again once your project is on the free version.

 

 

If the agents were added only to this one deleted project, their accounts would be entirely deleted from our system, together with the project owner's account. 

 

However, if the agents were added to more than one Tidio project, their accounts would not be deleted. Their accounts will be only deleted / unattached from the deleted project.

 

💡
Please remember that if you wish to delete all the data from our database - you need to make sure you deleted all the Tidio projects you have created. 

Further reading