Live Chat Conversations
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

Live Chat Conversations

  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

See how the live chat conversation panel at Tidio works. Are you ready to become an expert in live chatting?


In this article, you'll learn:


Conversations


You can access the Tidio conversation section by clicking on the first icon on the left side Tidio menu bar.



If you would like to pick up the conversation – click on the system/web browser notification or choose a chat from the Unassigned column in the Conversations panel. 


Unassigned folder 

 

The operator who assigned themselves to it be responsible for that chat. The next step is simply reading the visitor's message, typing in your reply, and letting the conversation take its course.


Responding to Messages


You can respond to visitors by typing your message in the conversation window and hitting 'enter' on your keyword. If you would like to send a file or a picture during a conversation, click on the paper icon and drag and drop the image inside the chat's conversation window. Your customers can do that from their end too!


 

Communication Channels


At Tidio, you can receive 3 types of messages in your conversations tab of the panel. A normal chat message, Email, and a Facebook Messenger message. They all appear differently, and that is how you will be able to recognize them:


Chat Message

Every chat message will always have the ID assigned based on the first letter/email of the user's name. Whilst you are responding to the chat, your choice should always be to respond via the 'chat message.' This should be automatically set to reply via chat if the visitor is on your website.


Email

Emails that you receive on your mailbox that is integrated with Tidio will appear with the blue envelope to specify that this is an email.You can choose to respond to those emails from the Tidio panel. That option is normally set to Email automatically when the visitor is offline but in case if you like to switch it yourself that is how it looks like: 



The red circle on the Chat Icon indicates that this visitor is not on the chat.


Messenger Messages


When you have your Facebook Fan Page integrated with your Tidio account all the messages sent to your Facebook page will also appear in Tidio. They might reflect the user's profile picture instead of the letter or a numeric and also have a Messenger Icon to indicate that the message came from the Messenger.

Learn more about Tidio integration with Messenger,


Instagram Messages

You can integrate your Instagram Business account into your Tidio account; all the messages and sections sent to your Instagram will also appear in Tidio. 

Learn more about Tidio integration with Instagram.


Transfer chat to another operator


At any point, the conversation can be transferred to another operator if you need to step out for a minute or your workload is too heavy at the moment. To transfer a conversation, click the three-dots menu right under the location map and select the Reassign operator option:


Reassign option 


From there, select the appropriate person from the list and hit Assign:


Assign Message confirmation

 

 And it's done! The chat window on the other operator's side will display the message that the chat has been transferred.


All Conversations View


You can see all the conversations - also the one archived in the All conversations folder inside your Tidio conversation panel. To see the 'all conversation' option- click on the three dots menu near your operator's name on the left side. Here is how to find it: 


All Conversation section

 

Leaving the Conversation


Finally, when you consider the conversation finished, you can un-assign yourself from it by clicking on the Leave button located at the top of your panel.  You can also click the three dots at the top of the map and use a Leave conversation. 


Leave conversation button

 

 If all operators have left the conversation, the next time the same visitor sends you a message, it will display in the Unassigned column, just like any other incoming chat. 

 

 All operators who are currently online will see the notification and will be able to jump right into the conversation. 


Delete Conversations


You can select multiple chats to delete from your list by clicking on the three dots next to the conversation and pressing Select



You can either select multiple chats or hit Check all from the bar at the top, and then delete. Please note that the bar at the top will be shown only after selecting at least one conversation:



Then, click on the garbage bin /delete icon to delete the chosen conversations.


 

Chats History 


See how to search for your archived chats in our article about chats history


Information on the visitor


You will see a location map and basic info on your visitor in the upper-right corner of your conversation window. This part will display a name/email/ID, the visitor's viewed pages, their browser version, operating system, and IP address. If the Pre-Chat Survey is enabled, all information that the survey collected will display there (e.g., a phone number).


Visitors details

 

Whenever a visitor considers the chat finished and minimizes the widget; when they open the chat widget again, the conversation will be visible for them right where you left off. The chat will stay in the active conversations panel for the operator until they unassign themself from it. To unassign – click the Leave button in the upper part of the chat window.


Check our 20 best Live Chat etiquette rules for great customer service to learn more about handling the chats.



If you still have some questions after reading this article, don't hesitate to contact us.


Was this article helpful?