Edit the Initial Message on Chat - First Chatbot
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

Edit the Initial Message on Chat - First Chatbot

  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

See how to edit the first bot's message visible to your website visitors. You've created this bot during the Tidio registration steps.


In this article, you'll learn:


During the new Tidio project registration, we ask you to set up a chatbot to engage with the visitors who come to your website for the very first time.


On the right, you can see an example of the message that will appear on your website.

 

You can pick the chatbot and change it later, which we explain in this article, or you can click on the blue customize this message text above the chatbot preview to adjust the bot's workflow right away. 

 

Editing


To edit your first chatbot, go to the Chatbots section (bot icon) located on the left side of your Tidio admin panel. 


Lookup your bot in the My Chatbots section, click on the three dots menu next to it and then choose Edit. You'll be transferred to the visual chatbot editor. 



Click on each node in the visual chatbot editor and adjust the messages to your preferences. 



Good job! Now, save the changes and activate the bot! 


💡
Depending on the trigger settings in your bot, the previous version of the message may still be visible in your chat window after making changes. This happens because the messages in the widget are saved in the chat history. If you’d like to test the new, edited message, we recommend opening your website in an entirely new incognito window. Learn more about our Chat History.

 

 

General Rules of Chatbot Edition


Once you edited your initial chatbot you are ready to create your own chatbots using our templates or from scratch. If you are just getting started with creating and editing chatbots with Tidio, it's good to know the basics and keep in mind some simple rules of chatbots edition.
We prepared a short video for you to show you around editing your chatbots:

 


Delete or Pause a Chatbot


To delete or pause a Chatbot, find the bot you wish to delete or pause and hover the mouse over the bot in the My Added Bots section. If you wish to delete the bot completely - click on the Delete option. If you want to stop the bot from appearing on your website, make sure the Active button is disabled. 


 

For more information, check out our First Steps with Chatbots guide.


To learn more - see how to increase customer loyalty with Chatbots and our 10 best welcome messages.



If you still have some questions for our team after reading this article, don't hesitate to contact us.


Was this article helpful?