Departments
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

Departments

  • Comments
  • Dark
    Light

Deliver the conversations to the right operators faster by enabling the Departments in your Tidio panel. 


In this article, you'll learn:


💡 
At this moment, Tidio Departments are only available for our beta testers. To join our early-adopters program - contact our Support team at support@tidio.net or via chat available in the Tidio panel.


Benefits


Save operators' time

Answer your customers quicker by focusing only on the relevant chats. No more chats' reassigning. 

Relevant conversations only

No more unnecessary interruptions during your work. Let your visitors find the right operator and enjoy less notifications and fewer chats. 

Keep your inbox organized

See only the chats from the scope of your expertise. Let other departments handle the rest of the conversations.


Add Departments


To start using Departments, go to Settings > General > Team > Departments section, where you can group your operators into specific departments.   



Click on Add new department, set the department's name and operators who will operate in it. You can assign as many operators to the department as your business needs (one operator can be added to multiple departments). 


Save the settings. 



Great! A new department was successfully added.



You can come back to this view and edit added departments anytime. To edit - click on the edit button on the right. You'll be able to add operators and change the department's name. To delete the department - click on the trash bin icon.

There is no limit on how many departments your project can have.  


💡
The General department is added by default and cannot be edited or deleted. This department includes all the operators. If an incoming chat has no specified department - the chat will go to the General Department. In this case, all operators will be notified about the chat. 


All unassigned chats from the deleted department will be automatically transferred to the General Department. All the open conversations will show the old (deleted) department name. No chats are deleted during this process. 


When all operators assigned to a department are deactivated - the department will not be shown to the visitors and in the Routing Rules settings. 



Set up routing rules


The purpose of Routing Rules is to give visitors an option to choose the department they want to reach.


To set the Routing Rules for departments, head to Settings > Channels > Appearance > Routing Rules for Departments


Enable the Display on the Pre-Chat Survey toggle.  


💡       
Please make sure the Pre-Chat Survey is enabled for your account. For now, Routing Rules will work only if the Pre-Chat Survey is working.



In the Routing Rules settings, you can set a Survey Field - a text that appears for your website visitors before clicking on the drop-down menu with the available departments. If not changed - your website visitors will see the "Select Department" text by default. 



In the next step, you'll set Routing Rules for the chosen departments. That's also a space where you can specify how you would like to name specific departments. 


The displayed text is the department's name your visitors will see in the Pre-Chat Survey. If the displayed text field is empty - your visitors will see the name you set in your department's settings, 


This section allows you to be creative. You can also use the displayed text space to create an alternative text (alias) and enter a topic for the conversation. For example, you can set the displayed text as Pricing Questions, but the actual department the message will go to will be the Sales department. 


By clicking on the Add new routing rules, you will be able to add more routings to the departments. You can add more than just one routing to the same department. 



You can also click on the Go to departments' settings to edit or delete the departments. In that section, you can also add or remove the operators. 


Make sure to save the settings after each change. 



Now, you'll see the chats and get notified only from the departments you are assigned to. You'll see a label under each incoming chat conversation with the department name on it. 



If you still have some questions for our team after reading this article, don't hesitate to contact us.


Was this article helpful?