# Automatic upgrades

Section: Billing & Subscription

Description: How Tidio upgrades a monthly package automatically at 95% of its limit, how you're warned at 80%, and where to turn the option off.

Verified against Tidio panel 12.304.0

Last updated: 2026-11-08

Source: https://help.tidio.com/articles/automatic-upgrades/

Tidio offers a system that will automatically detect the best time to upgrade your plan if you're already subscribed. The auto-upgrade feature exists to help **avoid interruptions in your services**, e.g. being unable to respond to chat messages, or having your automated flows deactivated.



Your project can be upgraded automatically when you reach either the [live conversations limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/monthly-conversations-limit/>), the Lyro AI agent limit, or the [flow limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/the-monthly-flow-limit/>). You will be **notified** when you're close to reaching any limit, before your subscription gets updated. Of course, you have the option to **disable** the auto-upgrade feature, and you are always able to modify your subscription manually as well.



However, automatic upgrades do not apply to all Tidio subscriptions; this article will tell you more about all the important details you should know.







**In this article, you will learn:**



- [When automatic upgrades apply](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/automatic-upgrades/#01HVP5H17VWEW56RT4EEK4XPFJ>)
- [How automatic upgrades work](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/automatic-upgrades/#h_01HVP5FZT3JK7FF73GEX99VMRF>)
- [How to disable automatic upgrades](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/automatic-upgrades/#01HVP5H2NN5BMD0GS48102KEWR>)



[Video](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/walkthrough.mp4>)



Silent walkthrough. Check the automatic upgrade switch on the Subscription tab, turn it off, and find the same switch on the Checkout page.







💡

 

Please note: if you've been a Tidio user for some time, you may not see the automatic upgrade feature available on your existing project(s). At this time, this functionality is only available for new Tidio projects.







## When can your subscription be upgraded automatically?







The automatic upgrade only takes place if you've **already purchased a subscription**. Naturally, an upgrade like this cannot happen if you're using [the free version](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/free-version-downgrading/>) of Tidio, or if your project is still in its [free trial period](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/trial-version/>). There are some other limitations on how the automatic upgrade works, though.



The automatic upgrade only applies to Tidio projects that are subscribed to a standard (non-Plus) **monthly** plan. In addition to that, the upgrade only takes place if you've reached either the [live conversations limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/monthly-conversations-limit/>), the [Lyro AI agent limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/the-lyro-ai-agent-limit/>), or the [flow limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/the-monthly-flow-limit/>); your Campaigns limit is not considered here at all (please note: the Campaigns tool is only available for **Plus** or legacy **Campaigns** subscribers).







To summarize, your subscription** will not be upgraded **automatically if:



- You're using Tidio for **free**
- You've **disabled** the automatic upgrade option
- You are subscribed to any **annual plan**
- You are subscribed to any **Plus plan**
- You've only reached the monthly **Campaigns limit**











## How do automatic upgrades work?







Apart from the requirements described above, an automatic upgrade will take place when you've reached **95% of your monthly quota** (for live conversations you've handled, visitors reached by flows, or Lyro AI agent conversations). It does not happen immediately, however.







#### 80% of quota used - alert



First, you will be **notified** about having reached **80% of your quota**. This serves as an alert for you, so that you're aware of almost reaching a monthly limit of some kind. The email notification includes a link for you to quickly edit your current subscription, if you wish.



Here's what the email notification may look like:







![The email warns that 80% of the monthly billable conversations limit is used and an automatic upgrade occurs at 95%, with an "Edit subscription" button.](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/legacy-19748175997724.webp>)











You will see a similar notification directly in your Tidio panel - a bar at the top that tells you how much of your limit you've used and that **At 95%, we'll upgrade your plan to avoid interruptions.**, with an **Edit your subscription** link - and you can **manually** take action to upgrade your subscription or modify it any way you like (this includes the option to **disable** automatic upgrades as well; more on that in the next section).







![The notification bar warns of 80% usage and an upgrade at 95%, with an "Edit your subscription" link.](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/legacy-19748175999132.webp>)











#### 95% of quota reached - automatic upgrade



If you use **95% of your quota**, the auto-upgrade will activate. The package in question will **automatically update to the next level** (e.g. your Customer Service package can upgrade from 250 billable conversations to 400).



You will be informed about this event via email:







![The Tidio email confirms the monthly conversations limit was automatically upgraded after usage reached 95%.](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/legacy-19748151177500.webp>)











## Disabling automatic upgrades







If you prefer not to get automatic upgrades, you can simply **disable** this feature. You will keep getting notified about reaching (and nearly reaching) your monthly limits, and you will be able to upgrade your subscription manually - as usual.



Head over to **Settings \> Project \> Billing** and, on the **Subscription** tab, see the option labelled **Automatically upgrade the limit once it's reached**. It is visible under any package that supports automatic upgrades (i.e. Customer service, Flows, and Lyro AI Agent):

![The Growth plan box on the Subscription tab: the Billable conversations usage bar, the Automatically upgrade the limit once it's reached switch turned on, and the tooltip "When you reach the 95% of the monthly usage limit, it will be automatically elevated to the next tier."](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/35.1.png>)

Simply turn the switch off - the change is saved right away, and you'll see the message **Automatic upgrade is disabled.**



You'll find the same switch under each package on the **Checkout** page when you edit your subscription - via **Edit subscription** in the **Usage and plan** menu, the **Edit your subscription** link in the panel notification, or the link included in an email notification:







![The Plans section highlights the enabled "Automatically upgrade the limit once it’s reached" switch beneath the monthly usage options.](<https://help.tidio.com/article-media/automatic-upgrades/legacy-19747669854236.webp>)











As mentioned earlier, this option is** enabled by default** - but you're able to deactivate it anytime you wish.



💡



**Please note:** the switch isn't shown if you pay annually, if a package is already at its highest level, or if you're on a custom plan.

 

## Further reading

 

- [Upgrading your Account](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/upgrading-your-account/>)
- [Manage your subscription](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/manage-your-subscription/>)
- [The monthly conversations limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/monthly-conversations-limit/>)
- [The Lyro AI agent limit](<https://help.tidio.com/articles/the-lyro-ai-agent-limit/>)
